What are you complaining for?

Pakistan PassportThese days, living in a foreign country with a green passport requires a lot of effort and caution. While we are already foreigners in that country, the cold response from the local community creates a much more alienated environment. A simple phrase, for instance ‘I am from Pakistan’ in a public place will turn alot of heads around you.

Recently a friend of mine lost his patience, when a ‘gora’ started hurrying his children away from him at a local market and started taking out his frustration on a ‘gora’, dubbing that ‘gora’ racist, narrow-minded, proud and many ‘other’ titles. When I heard his story, I was felt shocked and grieved. Shocked on the part of that ‘white’ man who was living in a country which is leading the campaign to remove racism, a country which boasts itself as a multi-cultural and a multi-racial country.

My grief was towards the behavior of my fellow countryman. True the ‘white’ man could have been racist but did we ever try to win their confidence? Within the past 63 years, did we as a nation contribute anything towards human kind? Rather we took huge lumps of loan from the international community, just to feed our hungry politicians! Do we have any inventor / innovator to celebrate? (I dearly wish we could claim and celebrate the likes of Professor Dr. Abdus Salam, whom our ancestors turned their backs on).

In their country, murder is a serious case, their law enforcement agencies don’t rest until the criminal is found and put to justice. In our country, hundreds of innocent people are murdered on daily basis, yet our law enforcement agencies are nowhere to be found. We are still unable to determine who or ‘what’ is causing the target killings in Karachi.

How is it their fault that they see us burning assets and properties of our own countrymen in order to record our ‘protest’ over an issue. Why is it that our politicians always run towards these regimes rather than their own constituencies to gain confidence?

Literacy rates are lower than any average country, education system is faulty, our nation is divided into class, religious, political and theoretical groups, our currency is a mess, our economics is going down the drain, our streets are filled with garbage, sewer systems aren’t proper, nearly half of our countrymen live below the line of poverty and yet, inflation is still on the rise.

Suicide rate is high, people are gunned down in broad daylight. In the presence of all these issues, the ‘religious leaders’ are only content to safeguard the controversial blasphemy law, their argument, “Because there is rule of law, hence we should not talk about changing blasphemy law”. On top of that, many in our nation are singing for their ‘hero’ the murderer ‘Mumtaz Qadri’.

These ‘goras’ they just don’t see us individually, they picture us as a whole nation. It isn’t their fault they have a horrible image of us in their imagination. The fault lies within us. If I am wrong, then pardon me for taking your time. But if I am right, then what are you complaining for?

About Hasan
A Muslim with a slightly different perspective. A student of history, theology and science.

2 Responses to What are you complaining for?

  1. Sheila O'Sullivan says:

    I live in the US. I too have seen the closed expressions when someone brings up Pakistan, or when an individual says ‘I am from Pakistan.’ I am not Pakistani, I am a US citizen. I have an open mind about Pakistan, but I do not read posts from many Pakistanis who similarly have an open mind. Most posts are anti-west, anti-American or both. I am trying to understand this by reading as much as I can. Additionally, there is the cultural divide. My sense is that it is a virtual minefield trying to communicate without offending the sensibilities of the Pakistani. Some seemingly secular, non-controversial questions are simply ignored. This is frustrating. For example: an NGO that I have recently been communicating with is changing its leadership. As I am trying to forge communication with corporations on this side of the Atlantic and this NGO, I thought it was acceptable that I inquire about the name of the new CEO. Apparently not…the question was ignored. I really don’t know how this was offensive. I wish I could get answers about this problem. I now have only one option….to provide contact information to the NGO and hope for the best.
    Apologies for rambling. It is refreshing to read a blog by someone who does not hate us.

    • Hasan says:

      I do not read posts from many Pakistanis who similarly have an open mind. Most posts are anti-west, anti-American or both

      Tolerance levels are down in our society, the purpose of this article is to open the eyes of ignorant Pakistanis and see what are they doing wrong, our own backyard is on fire and we are lighting up our neighbor’s turf.

Leave a Reply

